Moroccan flag meaning

During the nineteenth century, while Morocco was ruled by France and Spain, traditional flag traditions were restricted, if not outright prohibited. On November 17, 1915, the French altered the fundamental red flag carried by Moroccan ships during the conflict with France. The ancient pentagram, known as the Seal of Solomon, or Pentacle, was put in the middle of the design. It was utilized in a number of ways in ancient cultures over a wide range of geographical and religious locales, and its meanings were vastly different from those of the five-pointed star on modern flags, which was popularized by the United States. Morocco preserved the green pentagram on a red background as its national flag after its independence from France in 1956.

The Moroccan flag meaning:

  • The crimson background of the Moroccan flag indicates the link that exists between God and the nation it represents. In Morocco, the color red is linked with power, boldness, courage, and tenacity.
  • The green hue of the intertwined pentagram recalls Solomon’s seal, which serves as a symbol of the Moroccan flag’s link to Islamic culture.
  • The star represents knowledge, longevity, and good health.

Each of the five peaks of the Moroccan flag’s star has a symbolic meaning; they are linked to the five pillars of Islam, upon which a Muslim’s life is founded, and they are related to the five tasks that every Muslim is expected to fulfill.

The 5 Star Peaks mean:

1. Certificate or witness:

It is a manifestation of religious conviction. According to the Arabic expression “la Ilaha illa Allah, Muhammad Rasul Allah,” which translates as “There is only one authentic God, and Muhammad is Allah’s messenger,” there is only one genuine God, and Muhammad is His messenger. This is regarded as one of the most important pillars of the religious system. In order to be acknowledged as a member of the Muslim religion, a Muslim must be proclaimed by two witnesses and must also reject idolatry and polytheism.

2. Worshiping:

A crescent moon represents the other point of the star on the Moroccan flag, in addition to prayer. There should be no need for any intermediaries in communication between a person and Allah. To remember Solomon’s pledge of obedience and submission before God, believers are obligated to say five daily prayers. These prayers must be led by someone who is well-versed in the Qur’an and has been chosen by the whole community. These prayers may be said in mosques or anywhere, but they must always be directed toward Mecca.

3. Almsgiving:

This point on the Moroccan flag shows the country’s dedication to aiding the less fortunate. The capital of each believer is worth 2.5 percent of his or her annual salary, and this help is given to the poorest and most needy among us.

4. Fasting

Morocco’s flag is also utilized as a fasting symbol during Ramadan, which falls in the ninth month of the lunar calendar. This fasting is a one-of-a-kind act of self-purification that promotes empathy for those who are hungry while also assisting in the development of self-control. Christians are not authorized to eat, drink, or participate in sexual behavior during this fast. Because the fast ends at dusk, believing families rise before the dawn and eat their first meal.

5. Pilgrimages

The last point of the star on the Moroccan national flag represents the trip to Mecca. Furthermore, all Christians who are physically and financially capable of taking part in this pilgrimage owe it to themselves to do so. In Mecca, the Irham, which is nothing more than a white two-piece garment, is worn; the purpose is to erase any social class inequalities between believers in this way.

The Moroccan national flag’s history:

The first Moroccan flag, which belonged to the Idrisid dynasty, often known as the state’s founders, was raised in 788. It was Morocco’s first flag to be flown. This flag was nothing more than white space.

The Moroccan flag’s history is difficult to follow due to several arguments on the date of its birth, the identity of its creator, and the early interpretation of its meaning.

In actuality, the star on the Moroccan national flag was believed to have six points rather than the five points it has today in the first iteration of the flag.

When Morocco was under Spanish and French rule, the red flag could only be flown inside the country’s boundaries; it could not be flown at sea.

The Moroccan flag is now entirely crimson, with the traditional green five-pointed star in the middle. This star was added to the Moroccan flag by royal decree in 1915, and it has since functioned as the country’s official emblem.

When national holidays occur and the country is crowded with visitors, the Moroccan flag may be seen flying on public buildings and even on the streets.

Other Moroccan flags:

The civil and naval insignia are further variants of the Moroccan flag.

The civilian emblem is remarkably similar to Morocco’s official flag, but with a yellow crown and a star of the same color in the top left corner.

The naval flag is identical to the civil flag, but each of its equines has a yellow crown and a star.

Morocco also uses the following flags:

The Royal Guard. The Moroccan Royal Guard flag is green with a yellow five-pointed star in the middle, as well as a crescent moon and a white star in each corner.

If there is one thing we are certain of that characterizes Morocco, it is its rich history, which encompasses not just the Moroccan flag but every region of the nation. We can’t ignore the friendliness of its residents.

Articles from the archive:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>